Waterways Bill to be introduced in Parliament on April 20: Nitin Gadkari

"I will be introducing the Inland Waterways Bill in Parliament on April 20," Gadkari said at a CII event here. He added that the government is contemplating setting up five more major ports in the country, two of which have already been announced in West Bengal and Andhra Pradesh, to be built at an estimated investment of Rs 16,000 crore.
At present, there are 12 major ports -- Kandla, Mumbai, JNPT, Marmugao, New Mangalore, Cochin, Chennai, Ennore, VO Chidambarnar, Visakhapatnam, Paradip and Kolkata (including Haldia) -- in India.

Gadkari said the existing five inland waterways would be developed on a public-private-partnership (PPP) mode next year.
"One is Ganga, which flows from Gangotri to the Bay of Bengal via Haldia. The other is Mahanadi of Odisha, which is in a coal mining area. The third is Brahmaputra. The fourth is Buckingham Canal which links Tamil Nadu with Andhra Pradesh and the fifth one is in Kerala," he said, adding that waterways would cut transport cost by 30 percent.